Faiths United is a temporary coalition of faith leaders from across the UK responding to the Covid-19 crisis.

It was set up in late March 2020 to discuss how faith communities have been coping with the pandemic and to drive joint responses.

Its agenda is broad (rather than confined to a particular area) and the group consults with, but is independent from, government.

Participants consist of leaders and representatives from faith communities. The group is chaired by Maurice Ostro OBE. It also has a Youth Network  consisting of young leaders from different faiths.  

Since its formation the group has been addressed by representatives of front line workers from institutions including the British Medical Association, Royal College of Nursing, Social Work England, the National Care Association and the National Association of Funeral Directors, hearing about the challenges they’ve faced, and offering the support and gratitude of faith communities.

Examples of our work:

Faiths United Main Group

  • Maurice Ostro OBE, Chairman of Faiths United
  • Rt Rev Toby Howarth, Bishop of Bradford
  • Rev Canon Lusa Nsenga-Ngoy, Leicester Cathedral
  • Dr David Ryall, Catholic Bishops’ Conference of England and Wales
  • Rev Michaela Youngson, Methodist Church
  • Rev Dr Heather Morris, Secretary of Methodist Church in Ireland
  • Maj David Evans, Territorial Ecumenical Officer, Salvation Army
  • Very Rev Nephon Tsimalis, Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of Great Britain
  • Rev Bonnie Evans Hills, Priest in the Scottish Episcopal Church
  • Daniel Singleton, National Executive Director, Faith Action
  • Qari Asim, Chair, Mosques & Imams National Advisory Board
  • Sayed Ali Abbas Razawi, Director-General, Scottish Ahlul Bayt Society
  • Farhad Mawani, Ismailli Community
  • Shahien Taj OBE, Executive Director, Henna Foundation
  • Rabbi Jeremy Lawrence, Senior Rabbi, Finchley United Synagogue
  • Rabbi Joseph Dweck, Senior Rabbi, S&P Sephardi Community
  • Marie van der Zyl, President, Board of Deputies of British Jews
  • Rabbi Hannah Kingston, North Western Reform Synagogue
  • Rajnish Kashyap, General Secretary, Hindu Council UK
  • Trupti Patel, President, Hindu Forum of Britain
  • Bhaven Pathak, Director, Yog Foundation
  • Mandip Singh and Gurdeep Singh, Directors, Gurdwara Aid
  • Jasvir Singh OBE, Chair, City Sikhs
  • Dr Peter Chadha, British Sikh Association
  • Venerable Bogoda Seelawimala, Head of the London Buddhist Vihara
  • Veronica Wetten, London Fo Guang Shan Temple
  • Ajahn Amaro, Abbot, Amaravati Buddhist Monastery
  • Malcolm Deboo, President, Zoroastrian Trust Funds of Europe
  • Dr Natubhai Shah, Founder Chair, Jain Network
  • Nemu Chandaria OBE, President, ONEJain
  • Padideh Sabeti, Director, Office of Public Affairs of the UK Bahá’í Community
  • Kishan Manocha, Bahai Community
  • Dr Mark Owen, Director, Centre of Religion, Reconciliation and Peace, University of Winchester
  • Zaki Cooper, Council of Christians and Jews
  • Mustafa Field OBE, Faiths Forum for London
  • Krish Raval OBE, Director, Faith in Leadership