In light of the Prime Minister’s update on lockdown, faith leaders from nine different religions across the UK have signed up to a five point pledge outlining their commitment to supporting communities across the country.

As social distancing takes its place as a feature of everyday life, faith institutions, will continue to grapple with the challenges from moving operations online and ensuring that their relied upon, wide-ranging practical and spiritual support continues, as well as the concerns around mental health, the increase in reported incidences of domestic abuse, and the increase of prejudice and discrimination.

The pledge is as follows:

We pledge to keep our communities together by supporting faith institutions to safely adapt the provision of their services in the immediate and longer term.

We We pledge to care for those who are isolated, vulnerable and sick; comfort the bereaved and remember those we’ve lost.

3.    We pledge to reject the scapegoating of any community and to stand firm against prejudice and discrimination in all its forms.

4.    We pledge to support our NHS, social care and key workers – including doctors, nurses, supermarket workers and refuse collectors and so many other people enabling our country to function.

5.    We pledge to continue to ensure our communities are aware of, and adhere to, official guidance, and that we encourage them to access health services when they need them.

Signatories are:

  • Maurice Ostro OBE, Chair of Faiths United
  • Qari Asim, Chair, Mosques & Imams National Advisory Board
  • Jasvir Singh OBE, Chair, City Sikhs
  • Rev Dr George Whyte, Church of Scotland
  • Rev Michaela Youngson, Methodist Church
  • Daniel Singleton, National Executive Director, Faith Action
  • Farhad Mawani, Ismailli Community
  • Rabbi Jeremy Lawrence, Senior Rabbi, Finchley United Synagogue
  • Bhaven Pathak, Director, Yog Foundation
  • Ajahn Amaro, Abbot, Amaravati Buddhist Monastery
  • Venerable Bogoda Seelawimala, Head of the London Buddhist Vihara
  • Malcolm Deboo, President, Zoroastrian Trust Funds of Europe
  • Dr Natubhai Shah, Founder Chair, Jain Network
  • Nemu Chandaria OBE, President, ONEJain
  • Patrick O’Mara,  Secretary National Spiritual Assembly of the Bahá’ís of the United Kingdom